About Us


In October, 1874, notice was given in the “Times” and “Review” calling a meeting in Buckley, IL of those interested in forming an insurance company in the ‘towns’ (townships) of Loda, Fountain Creek, Artesia, Ash Grove, Onarga and Crescent. As no one was present to represent Fountain Creek, and believing Loda township would be divided, it was finally decided to substitute Douglas for Fountain Creek. A charter was procured November 19, 1874. The company later moved to Onarga, IL. We now provide coverage in 34 counties in Illinois. Farmers Pioneer Mutual is owned by its policyholders and the board of directors is comprised of policyholders.

Board of Directors

Martha Ann Genzel, President
Janice E. Lubben, Vice-President
Greg Kuipers
Jerome Finegan
Brad Meyer
Heather Clauss
Shane Cultra
Matthew Harford, Secretary-Treasurer, Manager


Jodi Tavenner started working for our company in July of 2015. She does policy processing, underwriting and accounts receivable.

Matthew Harford was hired as Assistant Manager in September 2021, and now serves as the Manager of Farmers Pioneer.